Shoe Game: Retro 9 (Cool Grey)

Air Jordan Retro 9 (Cool Grey)

The last Air Jordan Retro 9 of 2012 finally crossed the finish line this weekend. The re-release of the popular 2002 OG color way, Cool Grey, dropped this past Saturday, December 15th. Those probably wont be my last Air Jordan cop for 2012, but my eyes are set on a pair of Nike’s, the Air Max Barkley (Dark Grey/Photo Blue/Action Green). And of course there is the Retro 11 in Black/Red, and the Thunder Retro 4’s.

Shoe: Air Jordan 9 (Retro)

Release: 12/15/2012

MSRP: $160.00

Product Code: 302370-015

Colorway: Medium Grey/White/Cool Grey

Here’s my latest cop, couldn’t wait to open the box. The Air Jordan Retro 9, Cool Grey:

Air Jordan Retro 9 (Cool Grey) Box

The box is exactly what you’d expect for a Retro 9.

Air Jordan Retro 9 (Cool Grey) Box

Here are the shoes themselves. Just a standard Retro 9. Bit a of a contrast to the last two pairs of 9’s I’ve gotten, the Kilroy’s and the Slim Jenkins. Both are darker shoes, this one’s much lighter. It has a semi-translucent dark grey sole, white Jumpman on the side and bottom of the sole, white laces, light gray upper, with a darker gray mid made of patent leather. One upside to this colorway compared to most of the drops in the Kilroy pack is the leather tongue. These 9’s feel a bit higher in quality probably due to the suede-like nubuck upper and the leather tongue. Around the back there’s a white globe with the Jumpman, and the infamous 23 badge is also stitched in white.

Air Jordan Retro 9 (Cool Grey)

On foot:

Air Jordan Retro 9 (Cool Grey)

Now with all re-releases of Retro Air Jordans, sneaker heads will probably have a bit a nitpicking to do. Here’s a decent image of the OG 2002 release. The colors are close, and the form seems a little better on the 2012 re-release, but I can’t say much else about this comparison. I didn’t own an OG pair of the Cool Grey 9’s.

Retro 9 (Cool Grey) via NiceKicks.com

This was a pair I wasn’t sure if I was going to cop or not, yet I opted to don these on my Christmas list, and luckily I received them as an early present. As I said in my last Shoe Game post, this is the last of three major Air Jordan’s landing in December this year, and it’s the last pair of 9’s to drop. The Kilroy pack is done, the limited release Air Jordan Retro 9 Doernbecher dropped on November 30th, now all we have left in 2012 are the Thunder 4’s, and the ever-popular bred 11’s.

Air Max Barkley via Nike.com

The other pair I mentioned in the post is the Barkley Air Max in Dark Grey/Photo Blue/Action Green. I just ordered those and they should be here in just a few days. They’ve been out for a minute, but I think they’re worth a cop. I’ll do a post on those, and other than that I’m still looking around for bred Retro 4’s. However, I can’t seem to find those at a decent price.

Leave a Reply

