Shoe Game (Dec. 2012)

So I’ve been getting my shoe game back up to snuff. Over the summer I was really into canvas low-tops and Samoas, and last winter I kept my Timberland game strong. Although a big Timberland fan, I did finally dip a toe into the Ralph Lauren/Polo boot realm last fall. I tried my best not to succumb to the rampant Polo boot frenzy, but a few of there later styles seemed to catch my eye, and not everyone was wearing them. I received a pair of wheat Polo Rangers last Christmas after throwing out a tip that I liked them… Ever since the Polo Conquest took off, everybody’s feet have been donned with Ralph Lauren’s popular winter footwear.

Polo Ranger (Tan)
Polo Ranger (from ralphlauren.com)

This fall, however, I’ve put my focus back on sneakers. It’s been a few years since I’ve put any real effort into getting the latest Nikes or Air Jordans, but for the time being I’m back at it. Two popular pairs this summer have been Deion Sanders’ signature Diamond Turf 2, and theca closely related, Speed Turfs which continue to see colorway updates through the winter. One of my favorites this season has been Nike’s Air Max Express, which takes design cues from the Diamond Turf 2’s, Air Max Griffey’s, with an Air Max sole. Here’s my favorite colorway of the Air Max Express’s this year, the Hot Punch:

Nike Air Max Express (Hot Punch) Nike Air Max Express (Hot Punch)

…and my next pick, the 49ers (Black/Gym Red/White/Metallic Gold):

Nike Air Max Express (49ers)

Those I like, but what’s really caught my eye this year has been Jordan’s Kilroy pack. This series of Retro 9’s takes on the theme of alter egos Jordan personified back in the early 1990’s in a couple of commercials revolving around one of his retirements. His will to keep playing basketball caused him to take on all of these different personas from different fictional NBA teams in order to keep playing, the forerunner of these personas being Johnny Kilroy. Other personas include Slim JenkinsFontay MontanaCalvin BaileyBentley Ellis and the last colorway in this persona Retro 9 pack was the Motorboat Jones (Challenge Red/Black) which dropped December 1st. The only pair I’d been able to get my hands on was my second pick out of the pack, the Slim Jenkins colorway (University Blue/Black). I just recently was able to pick up a pair of my top pick in this pack of six Retro 9 color ways which was the first to drop in the pack, the Johnny Kilroy (Black/Gym Red/Metallic Platinum).

Jordan Retro 9's Jordan Retro 9's Jordan Retro 9's Air Jordan Retro 9 (Slim Jenkins) Jordan Retro 9 (Johnny Kilroy)

The rest of 2012 looks like three pretty sizable releases, two of which many sneaker fans have been waiting for. The Retro 9 “Cool Grey”, a re-release from 2002:

Cool Grey Retro 9’s via Sole Collector.

and the infamous Retro 11 in a “bred” colorway (Black/Red):

Bred Retro 11’s via Sole Collector.

The other of these three last Air Jordan Retro releases in 2012 is a re-release of the rare Air Jordan 4 in a Black/White/Tour Yellow colorway, dubbed, “Thunder”. These were part of an exclusive online-only pack which release alongside another rare colorway, the Lightning. I might pick up a pair of the Lightnings, which drop December 22nd as of this writing.

Thunder Retro 4’s via Sole Collector.

My current rotation consist of about seven kicks, and a few other beaters. I also picked up a pair of the Raptor 7’s (Black/True Red/Dark Charcoal/Club Purple) on the re-release date — same as the Slim Jenkins — on November 24th:

Jordan Retro 7 (Raptor) Jordan Retro 7 (Raptor)

I’ll definitely keep updating on my rotation, and new releases coming out in 2013, and of course the big Bred 11 release just in time for Christmas in a couple of weeks.

Links courtesy of the sites I go to for sneaker info: Sole Collector & KicksonFire.com

2 thoughts on “Shoe Game (Dec. 2012)

Leave a Reply

